UNESCO Global Geopark

It all began in the year 2000 when four geologically interesting regions in Europe - the island of Lesbos (Greece), Haute Provence (France), the Maestrazgo (Spain) and the Vulkaneiffel (Germany) - joined forces to form the "European Geopark Network". Their primary goal was the preservation, protection and sustainable presentation of their unique geological heritage. 

Today (as of 2023), there are 195 geoparks in 48 countries worldwide that have joined together to form the Global Geopark Network. Since 2015, the Global Geoparks have been able to call themselves UNESCO Global Geoparks, now as a separate UNESCO program. In Austria, a total of three geoparks belong to the UNESCO network: the Eisenwurzen region in Styria, the cross-border Karawanken region in Carinthia/Slovenia and our Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark in Salzburg.

UNESCO Global Geoparks (UGGp) are individual, clearly defined geographical areas where sites and landscapes of international geological significance are managed with a holistic approach of conservation, education and sustainable development. Geoparks provide the link between landscape conservation and sustainable tourism, allowing nature's treasures to emerge from the "sea of millions of years". 

The Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark was accepted into the "European and Global Geopark Network" in 2014 and has been the Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark since 2015. It is located in Salzburg's Pongau region and includes the municipalities of Bischofshofen, St. Veit im Pongau, Mühlbach am Hochkönig and Hüttau. Mining traces dating back over 5000 years can be found throughout the entire area of the Geopark.

You can find further information here: UNESCO Global Geoparks | UNESCO

European Geoparks Network

The European Geoparks Network comprises of 94 European Geoparks and offers a network for cooperation. The aim of this network is the preservation of the geological heritage and the sustainable development of the regions.

Global Geoparks Network

Im Global Geoparks Network bietet einen Schirm für 195 globale Geoparks. Die Mitglieder sollen durch die Kooperation und den Austausch voneinander profitieren und weltweite Anerkennung erlangen.

In addition to the "Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark", there are two other geoparks in Austria. The Styrian Eisenwurzen UNESCO Global Geopark in Styria and the Karavanke UNESCO Global Geopark in Carintia and Slovenia. A national Austrian Geopark is the Geopark Karnic Alps in the border area of Carintia and Italy.

Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark

The Ore of the Alps UNESCO Global Geopark has been part of the Global Geoparks Network for almost ten years and has been able to call itself a UNESCO Global Geopark since 2015. In 2022, this designation was successfully revalidated for a further four years.

Here you can find further Information on the Austrian Geoparks:

Styrian Eisenwurzen UNESCO Global Geopark

Karavanke UNESCO Global Geopark

Geopark Karnic Alps

Custom Image