Historic Mines


The deeper mines and mine tunnels which are open to the general public, along with prospect mines and holes in the Geopark communities of Bischofshofen, Mühlbach am Hochkönig, Hüttau and St. Veit im Pongau are highlights for every visitor. Here, you are able to immerse yourself in a mystical “world of darkness”, and at the same time in a fascinating “world of colorful ores”.

 

Kupferzeche Larzenbach

 

The Larzenbach – Hüttau Mine dates back to the 13th/14th century. Here, you will follow the perfectly laid-out Copper Ore Path down a narrow mine tunnel, certain to leave you with lasting impressions.

 

 

 

Schurfbau Lehen Ausschnitt

 

 

Along the ore path on the Buchberg near Bischofshofen lies Schurfbau Lehen, where miners would once “prospect” for iron just below the surface.

 

 

 

Mühlbach Schaustollen._innen

 

The historic mine in Mühlbach provides comprehensive insights into mining techniques of the last few thousand years. The Celtic Hole on the way to the Arthurhaus  at the foot of the Hochkönig promises a “journey into pre-history”. You are definitely in for some fascinating surprises!

 

 

 

Sunnpau_halle

 

The historic copper mine in St. Veit impressively presents how ore used to be extracted back in the prehistoric Sunnpau Mine. Sunnpau copper was used as far back as 4,000 years ago to manufacture tools, weapons and eating utensils.

Schaubergwerke


Die Schaubergwerke, Besucherstollen, Schurfbaue und „Löcher“ in den Geoparkgemeinden Bischofshofen, Mühlbach am Hochkönig, Hüttau und St. Veit im Pongau sind Höhepunkte für jeden Besucher. Hier tauchen Sie ein in die mystische „Welt der Dunkelheit“ und zugleich in die faszinierende „Welt der Bunten Erze“.

 

Kupferzeche Larzenbach

 

Das Bergwerk Larzenbach – Hüttau stammt aus dem 13./14. Jahrhundert. In beeindruckender Weise folgen Sie hier den Kupfererzgang in perfekter Ausprägung entlang dem engen Stollen.

 

 

 

Schurfbau Lehen Ausschnitt

 

 

Auf dem Erzweg am Buchberg nahe Bischofshofen liegt der Schurfbau Lehen, wo Knappen nach Eisen „schürften“.

 

 

 

Mühlbach Schaustollen._innen

 

Der Schaustollen in Mühlbach vermittelt einen umfassenden Einblick in die Bergbautechniken der letzten Jahrtausende. Das Keltenloch auf dem Weg zum Arthurhaus am Fuße des Hochkönigs verspricht eine „Reise in die Urgeschichte“. Lassen Sie sich überraschen!

 

 

 

Sunnpau_halle

 

Das Kupfer – Schaubergwerk St. Veit präsentiert eindrucksvoll den Abbau im prähistorischen Bergwerk Sunnpau. Aus dem Sunnpauer Kupfer wurden bereits vor 4000 Jahren Werkzeuge, Waffen und Geschirr gefertigt.